Cambridge Campus

Great Cambridge Rd,
Enfield EN1 1HQ

Bury Campus

Little Bury Street, Edmonton,
London, N9 9JZ

Contact Us

+44 (0)20 8360 3158

Welcome To Edmonton County Sixth Form, Educating our community for success.

Applied | Science

Head of Key Stage 5 : 

Ms M Zargarian

Applied Science Overview

The AQA Level 3 Extended Certificate in Applied Science allows learners the opportunity to master the core principles and practical applications that underpin applied science. It also enables learners to build on knowledge and skills acquired in the Certificate and focus on a particular applied pathway depending on the optional unit chosen. The qualification’s synoptic focus ensures that learning is coherent across all units. Learners undertake a programme of assessment designed to measure their knowledge and understanding of applied science as well as its practical application.

Each unit within the qualification has an applied purpose which acts as a focus for the learning in the unit. The applied purpose demands authentic work-related learning in each of the units. It also requires learners to consider how the use and application of their learning affects themselves, other individuals, employers, society and the environment. The applied purpose will also enable learners to learn in such a way that they develop:

  • skills required for independent learning and development
  • a range of generic and transferable skills
  • the ability to solve problems
  • the skills of project-based research, development and presentation
  • the ability to apply mathematical and ICT skills
  • the ability to apply learning in vocational contexts.

This course is a two year course with 6 units to be completed in total.

Year 12 Units

Year 13 Units:

This qualification is supported by a range of universities, and taken alongside other qualifications, it can fulfil the entry requirements for a number of science-related higher education courses, including biomedical, forensic and sports science, as well as nursing. In addition, the qualification is eligible for UCAS points, equivalent to one A level.